Sarah Sharma Runa Das Tamara Knittel

Sarah Sharma (left) is stepping down as Chair and Runa Das (centre) is stepping in. New member Tamara Knittel (right) joins Steering Committee.

Sarah Sharma will be stepping down from her Chair and Steering Committee roles — we are so grateful for her incredible leadership this year! 2022 had many highlights for WISER, including the symposium series, which was a huge success in no small part due to Dr. Sharma's excellent leadership. We are excited that Runa Das, Assistant Professor at Royal Roads University, will be stepping into the Chair role in 2023.

We are also pleased to welcome our newest Steering Committee member, Tamara Knittel! Tamara is a Ph.D. Candidate at the University of Victoria focusing on energy systems modelling. Welcome, Tamara! And we are so pleased that Amy Janzwood, Neelakshi Joshi, Georgia Savvidou, and Laura Tozer will remain on as Steering Committee members. Stay tuned for what we have planned for 2023!

Meet the 2023 Steering Committee

Runa Das (Chair), Assistant Professor, Royal Roads University

Amy Janzwood, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of British Columbia

Neelaskhi Joshi, Postdoctoral Researcher, Leibniz Institute for Ecological and Regional Development

Tamara Knittel, PhD Candidate, University of Victoria

Georgia Savvidou, PhD Candidate, Chalmers University of Technology

Laura Tozer, Assistant Professor, University of Toronto

Recent News and Member Updates